Yes, he hit the ball!

Yes, he hit the ball!

First off, for those in the Houston area who are reading this, I highly recommend you register for the Family to Family Network Conference and Resource Fair.  They have two this year – both of them just under a full day long.  The first one is Saturday, March 22, and it lasts from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

I had registered for it.  There are some awesome-sounding panels.  I was going to “The Future is Sooner Than You Think” and “Working out Conflicts” and “My Kid in One Page or Less.”  All of that sounds really, really good, right?  I’m sure it would have been.  But it turns out I won’t be going.

Why not?

Because on the first of March, Simon started the Hometown Heroes Challenger League.  It’s the Little League Baseball team meant for children with disabilities.  They have volunteer boys from the Little League who come and work one-on-one with the kids on the Challenger League, and the Challenger League gives the kids who wouldn’t normally get to play Little League a chance to, well, play Little League.

Going out to the field...

Going out to the field…

I missed the first game.  I had planned, before I knew the game schedule, a trip for business to Seattle.  I couldn’t cancel it, and it would be okay; my husband was taking Simon, and they would have a great time.  (They did.)

But I missed it.

I wasn’t there for it, and while I got a wealth of pictures and even a few videos, I wasn’t there for it.

So I look at it this way – I can go and learn about my child in an abstract way.  I can figure out future plans that may or may not happen. I can hear about conflict resolution.  And I can condense everything about him into a single page to help others learn about him.

Or I can go and actually be with him.  I can watch him play.  I can help him.  I can cheer him on.  I can see what he does.

I don’t think there’s really much of a choice at all there, is there?

