Children are weird. No one needs to argue that point. But I’m going to anyway.

I was a totally weird child.

One of the best examples that springs to mind happened when I was seven or eight years old. My grandmother grew radishes in her garden, and I was one of those kids who liked to eat fresh vegetables, including radishes. But my mother had carved radish roses and put them in the salad that night.

I decided not to eat my rose, but instead to save it, and I somehow got it from the table to my bedroom without anyone noticing. There, I hid it in a dresser drawer.

My parents found out (probably my sister told on me), and they demanded to know why I had a radish in with my socks. My logic was flawless: it was pretty, and I wanted to save it – not eat it.  I still stand by that impeccable reasoning today.

But I can also look back and admit that it was kind of weird.

So you can understand where I’m coming from when I say that sometimes Simon also engages in weird behaviors.

Like his sleep habits.

Simon likes to go to bed at 7 p.m. Doesn’t matter what we do to try to change it. At 7, he knows he wants to “scurry off to bed” (his words, taken from, I believe, Bear in the Big Blue House). Sometimes he’ll ask to scurry off to bed at 6:30. Sometimes he’ll last past 7 if something super fun, like going to fireworks on the Fourth of July, is involved. Generally, he goes to bed at 7, or he falls asleep on the couch.

But then he wakes up in the middle of the night.

Here’s the thing: he doesn’t leave his room. He used to, but then one year when we were on vacation, he determined that he should stay in his room until we got him, and then he kept that up when we got home. He stays in his room, falls back asleep (eventually), then wakes up at 5:20 on school days – early bus! – or 6 am on other days.

Okay, so where did the title of this blog figure into all this, you may very well be asking yourself.

Here’s the answer…

When Simon wakes up in the middle of the night, we can tell because suddenly there are noises coming from his room.

The sound of a child laughing.

The sound of a child singing.

The sound of a child repeating bits from TV shows at the top of his lungs.

april 4Ever woken up to a child loudly exclaiming, “Let’s hide in the shower!” or “There’s a spoon in the bathroom!” or “Sick and dying!” or “Quick! Chase after them!”

It’s super weird to hear that. All of them are from children’s shows. For real. Which almost makes it worse.

Waking up at 2 a.m. and hearing a child telling you to hide in the shower or chase someone…yeah, it’s kinda like being in a horror movie where you realize that the phone call is coming from inside the house.

So…freaky noises from kids at 2 a.m. – weird. Am I right?

