subliminal_animationFor the uninitiated into the secret language of special needs education, ESY is Extended School Year. So far, Simon has qualified for it every year.

To qualify, your child must show significant regression linked to long breaks, and there must be significant recoupment. Of course, this means some school districts make up data/rules, but we’re in a good system that actually uses real data and rules. But I digress…

The thing is, Simon *loves* going to ESY. He loves school anyway, so it’s not surprising that he’d like ESY since there are less kids, and he gets a lot of attention. On top of that, he still gets to ride the bus twice a day. It’s like heaven for him.

The only problem we have with ESY is it often has a lot less communication between the teachers/parents. Part of the issue is because ESY has shortened days, and it’s only four days a week. It often gets scheduled rather last minute because of the need for current data, and that can also make it more difficult to know who the teacher will be ahead of time. Add those factors the fact the district itself is on reduced hours and there isn’t always too much staff around in the school itself to answer phones.

Now, I say all that, but I do know how to contact people, and it’s not like we never hear from anyone. I’m just saying there’s less communication.

Which is why I’m wondering what, exactly, they have been teaching Simon over the summer.

I ask that because this morning I woke up to Simon sitting on the bed next to me, whispering, “We’re going to HEB,” over and over again. Quiet. Deliberate. Convincing.

I think they may have been teaching him how to use subliminal messages.

Oh, and do you need anything from the store? Because we’re heading out to HEB in a few minutes…

(Oh, and thanks to http://gifmaker.me/ for making the animated gif process quick and easy!)

