calendarYes, I’m a big fan of “Trading Places.” The 1983 movie, that is, not the show that’s on HGTV or whatever. It’s an excellent holiday and end of the year movie. Even if it’s completely inappropriate at times. Although perhaps that’s what makes it so excellent.

Regardless, that’s not the point of this post.

The point is that this afternoon, I was sitting around, working on my computer, and Simon walked up to me.

“January first,” he said.

“Umm, okay.” I wasn’t entirely sure how he knew what day it was. I mean, yes, we had changed the calendars around the house, but did that mean he knew how to follow them? He does “calendar time” at school, but that seemed to be less about figuring out the day on the calendar and more about reviewing the day of the week, the weather, and all that good stuff.

“January,” he insisted.

“Yes, it is,” I told him. “It’s the first of January.”

He stood there, looking at me.

“What about it?” I asked. “Why does it matter?”

“Exciting,” he said.

Exciting?

How is January first exciting? He couldn’t really tell me. But it was exciting for him.

And it was exciting for me.

Simon came to me to share something. Maybe he couldn’t explain it, not in words. Maybe he wasn’t sure why he felt that way, and maybe he wasn’t even sure how he was feeling. But he was trying to tell me. He wanted me in on it.

January first was very exciting.

